D. José Pedro da Silva Library

Biblioteca D. José Pedro da Silva_EN

The Library of Universidade Católica Portuguesa in the Regional Centre of Viseu was created in 1980 when the Viseu Campus was established in this same city. Its main aim was to support the learning and research activities underlying the teaching and learning processes. Until 1999 it shared the building with the Department of Administrative Services. That same year, the Library moved to its current premises, occupying its own very spacious building, which was fully accessible soon after its opening in February of the same year.

Built on a four-floor base, covering an area of approximately 2,225 m2, the Library D. José Pedro da Silva has a large physical space, a pleasant and inviting environment, due to its architecture that gives it a modern and welcoming atmosphere. The building is properly equipped and technologically updated, offering good working conditions and ensuring full accessibility of its users.

The Library's main objective is to provide the academic community of the Viseu Regional Centre with the necessary bibliographic resources for study and research. In this context, the Library seeks to provide diversified materials, guaranteeing its users access to a high potential of information from different areas, in order to cover and respond to the most varied requests and interests of its public. Its funds cover, primarily, the areas of the careers that were and are taught in this same Centre, namely Architecture, Management, Computing, Classical and Modern Languages and Literature, Mathematics, Dental Medicine, Social Work and Tourism. Thus, the Library currently makes available about 67 000 documents, classified and arranged on its freely accessible shelves, according to the Universal Decimal Classification.

Dental Medicine



Social Sciences


Theology and Architecture

Number of titles


Number of journals


Number of seats


Number of search terminals


Arq. Kheil do Amaral

Christine De Roo

Dª. Sebastiana

Dr. Henrique Machado

Dr. José Coelho

Dr. Maximiano Aragão

Mons. Camilo Barros

Pe. Fino

Prof. António Cabrita

Rui Melo