Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is chaired by the High Chancellor, who superintends the institutional life and the governance and administration of the UCP. The Board meets five times a year and is composed by approximately 40 ordinary members, elected and appointed, among which are the President, the Vice-Rectors, the Administrator, the Pro-Rectors, the Directors of the Basic Units, the Bishops of the Dioceses, a representative of the Episcopal Conference, nine prestigious individuals in the cultural, social and economic life of the country and also a Representative of the Alumni Associations.

The Board of Trustees is responsible for approving new units or the extinction of existing units; the creation, extinction or splitting of courses; the decision on agreements that directly involve the name or responsibility of the UCP, establishing the general guidelines for the management and administration of the university, setting fees, tuition and emoluments, setting the remuneration scales for staff, and also approving budgets and management accounts.