13 October 1967 — Universidade Católica Portuguesa (better known in Portugal as UCP or just "Católica") is established by decree of the Holy See (Lusitanorum Nobilissima Gens), at the request of the Portuguese Bishops' conference and under Concordat Law.

The first constituent Faculty is the Jesuit-owned Faculty of Philosophy of Braga already operating in that city since 1947. 



The University was soon extended to Lisbon where it opened, in 1968, the Faculty of Theology.

Professor José Bacelar e Oliveira, SJ was appointed Vice-Rector.



The Portuguese government's official recognition of UCP occurred in 1971, by decree-law 307/71, which acknowledged Universidade Católica as on a par with the other Portuguese universities and conferred on the degrees it grants — presently "licenciado", "mestre"  and "doutor", — the same value and the same effects as those awarded by State universities.

New High Chancellor: Cardinal D. António Ribeiro.



Appointment of first Rector: Prof. José do Patrocínio Bacelar e Oliveira, SJ.

Establishment of the Faculty of Human Sciences in Lisbon, at Palma de Cima campus.



First Programme in Management in Portugal, the undergraduate degree in Business Sciences, later called Management and Business Administration. 



UCP is extended to Porto.

First Law Programme in Porto — Law Faculty.



UCP is extended to Viseu.



His Holiness Pope John Paul II visits the Lisbon campus and blesses the foundation stone of the University Library.

Establishment of the College of Biotechnology (Porto).



Establishment of the Regional Centre of Porto. 



Establishment of the Faculty of Biotechnology, a pioneer school in Portugal.

First extension courses in Funchal.



Establishment of the University Institute for Development and Social Progress (Viseu).



Inauguration of the JPII University Library. The regional centres of Porto, Braga and Viseu will also have their own libraries. 



Appointment of a new Rector: Prof. D. José da Cruz Policarpo.



Law and Economics and Business Administration and Management, formerly included in the Faculty of Human Sciences, become separate Faculties, the Faculty of Law and the Faculty of Economics and Business Administration.

The Faculty of Theology launches its Undergraduate Programme in Porto.



UCP's legal framework in the system for higher education (Decree-Law 128/90, of April 17).



UCP is extended to Leiria and Figueira da Foz

Launch of Executive Education at the Faculty of Economics and Business Administration, being one of the first Business Schools in Portugal to offer MBA's and executive education programmes. 



New Statutes incorporating further provisions by decree of the Holy See (Ex Corde Ecclesiae e Sapientia Christiana) are published. The Statutes establish the existence and governance of the Regional Centres. 

Establishment of the Beiras Regional Centre, later renamed Viseu Regional Centre.



Establishment of Porto Regional Centre. 



Third Rector: Prof. Doutor Manuel Isidro Araújo Alves.

College of Sciences and Technology (Viseu and Figueira da Foz).

Creation of the School of Arts, also a pioneer school in Portugal, at Foz campus.

Creation of the Inter-university Institute of Macau (presently the University of St Joseph in Macau).



Establishment of the European Studies Institute and the Political Studies Institute, in Lisbon.

Establishment of the Education Institute, in Porto.



Appointment of a new High Chancellor: Cardinal D. José da Cruz Policarpo.

Creation of UCEditora, the university's publisher.



Establishment of the Faculty of Engineering (Sintra campus).

First courses in Caldas da Rainha.

Creation of Braga Regional Centre.



Appointment of a new Rector: Prof. Doutor Manuel Braga da Cruz.



Establishment of the Faculty of Social Sciences, in Braga.

Establishment of the Faculty of Economics and Management (later renamed Católica Porto Business School) in Porto.

Dental medicine and Architecture are created in Viseu.



Establishment of the Institute of Oriental Studies and the Institute of Family Studies, in Lisbon. 

Establishment of the Bioethics Institute, in Porto.

Launch of the School of Business Administration (CGA Atlantic Business School) in partnership with leading business associations and other Universities, in Porto.



Institute for Distance Education and Training.



Establishment of the Institute of Health Sciences, based in Lisbon and with centres in Porto and Viseu. 



Higher Institute for Canon Law, in Lisbon. 

Restructuring of the Faculty of Law: Lisbon School of Law and Porto School of Law.



Incorporation into the Institute of Health Sciences of Schools of Nursing based in Porto and Lisbon. Later it was named Católica School of Nursing.  



Católica Lisbon School of Business & Economics becomes the first Portuguese Business School to hold the Triple Crown status. 

Arts School extends to Lisbon. 



Establishment of Católica Global School of Law, as part of the Faculty of Law - Lisbon School.  

Launch of the senior targeted programme "Católica 4.º ciclo" in Porto. 



Appointment of a new Rector: Prof. Doutora Maria da Glória Garcia.



New High Chancellor: Cardinal D. Manuel Clemente.



The Board of Trustees approved the name changes Viseu Regional Centre and Nursing School.



Appointment of a new Rector: Prof. Doutora Isabel Capeloa Gil.



Católica celebrates its 50th anniversary.

Visit the 50th anniversary website.

Signature of the UCP / Luz / Maastricht protocol.

Creation of the Institute of Religion Studies.



The Portuguese President awarded UCP as an honorary member of the Order of Public Instruction.

SACRU – Strategic Alliance Catholic Research Universities.




1st time Best University in Portugal by the THE.

Focus of all the activity of the Regional Centre of Porto in the Pole of Foz.

Change of designation of the Department of Economics, Management and Social Sciences to Instituto de Gestão e das Organizações da Saúde.

Creation of the Católica Doctoral School.

Creation of the Faculty of Dental Medicine.



Accreditation of the Integrated Master in Medicine.